Baby You’re a Firework!


The other day I was listening to the radio and Katy Perry’s song, Firework, came on. My first instinct was to change the station since I’ve heard it more than enough times, and I just wasn’t feeling in the mood to hear it again. I stopped myself though. I waited and really listened to what she was saying. Below are the lyrics that caught my attention and made me think, hey, Katy Perry is pretty spot-on with her message in this song. Below are a few lines I think we can all relate to and be empowered by.

Do you ever feel like a plastic bag
Drifting through the wind, wanting to start again?

You’re original, cannot be replaced

If you only knew what the future holds
After a hurricane comes a rainbow

Maybe a reason why all the doors are closed
So you could open one that leads you to the perfect road

Long story short, I’m glad I chose to embrace my environment and what was going on around me instead of trying to control it. It would have been easy to let my mood get the best of me in this situation. I paid attention instead of getting annoyed, and I’m glad I did. It’s a good reminder that sometimes it’s okay to let go a bit, relinquish control, and appreciate the power of patience and curiosity.

So always remember, baby you’re a firework!

Source: A-Z Lyrics

3 thoughts on “Baby You’re a Firework!

Leave a Reply

