Smoother Than a Fresh Jar of Skippy


I stole the title for my blog post today from Bruno Mars’ song, Uptown Funk. This phrase made me laugh when I heard it.  I thought to myself, who doesn’t want to be smoother than a fresh jar of Skippy!? Cause I sure do!

I’ve always taken life pretty seriously, but am (slowly) learning to lighten up a bit, and can say with confidence, that I love this new-found freedom that comes from letting go. It takes courage and strength to really embrace the ideas that: it’s okay to make mistakes, we learn from experience, and perfection applies to math problems, not real life.

My definition of smooth is having emotional intelligence, being level-headed in any situation and being able to laugh at myself. It means making time for things that matter to me and spending time doing things that make me happy. What’s your definition of smooth, what does being smooth look like for you?

If you haven’t already started, I challenge you to turn up the volume in your own life. Smile. Relax. Dance. Let loose. And if nothing else, be smooth.

Music video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OPf0YbXqDm0

12 thoughts on “Smoother Than a Fresh Jar of Skippy

  1. Hi Jasmine! Thank you for your comment. I’m glad you enjoyed this article! It was fun to write and feel it has a powerful message. Thanks for reading! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

