I’ll Be Your Fire When The Lights Go Out


Lyrics from a pop ballad, the song was inspired by the imagery of a destructed city after Armageddon, and how the survivors carry on with their lives, with love being the only thing they can hold onto. Composed as an uplifting track, “Ghosttown” features instrumentation from organ and drums, with minor vocoder effects on Madonna’s vocals, and a big chorus. The second I heard this song I fell in love! I’m not surprised since it’s written and performed by the one and only Madonna. 🙂

Madonna told Rolling Stone that Ghosttown “is kind of looking at the world in a way, seeing civilization collapse around us, for lack of a better word. And at the end of the day, if we run out of oil and we don’t have electricity and we don’t have all the modern conveniences, and we have no phones and computers, all we’re going to have is each other, is humans. And that song’s about recognizing that.”

I love this, the lyrics align with the message I am trying to convey through my blog. It’s about humans interacting and supporting each other, sharing encouragement and love, holding onto hope. It’s simply, mindfulness.

“Things” really don’t matter, sure, we must meet our basic human needs in order to live and survive (food/water/shelter), but the rest is just fluff. It’s like in basketball when a team accumulates a requisite number of fouls, they are bonuses. Things really don’t matter, what matters is how we treat one another, how we teach one another, how we find ways to make each other better, and how we love one another.

Below are just some of the lyrics to give you an idea of why I love this song so much. I also encourage you to take a listen to the video on YouTube. I hope you find it as amazing and uplifting as I do!

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b4JhCKrZDTo

When the world gets cold
I’ll be your cover
Let’s just hold
Onto each other
When it all falls, when it all falls down
We’ll be two souls in a ghost town

When it all falls, when it all falls down
I’ll be your fire when the lights go out
When there’s no one, no one else around
We’ll be two souls in a ghost town

Tell me how we got this far
Every man for himself
Everything’s gone to hell
We gotta stay strong, we’re gonna hold on

This world has turned to dust
All we’ve got left is love
Might as well start with us
Singing a new song, something to build on

One thought on “I’ll Be Your Fire When The Lights Go Out

Leave a Reply

