Happy Just The Way We Are


Is it possible? Do we really believe this to be true in our own lives? Or are we always competing, comparing and saying to ourselves, “If I only would have tried harder.” People who have low self-esteem tend to internalize external events and situations, whereas people with high self-esteem tend to brush things off and point to external sources outside themselves as the cause for disappointment. This is very interesting to me. Why can some people quickly move past “failure,” while others dwell on the fact that they just aren’t good enough (and might not ever be)? Why can’t we all be happy just the way we are?

I don’t have the answer, but I am going to guess it has something to do with their thought patterns or that maybe they practice internal grounding (mindfulness). Or, it could be that they really do not care what other people think of them and aren’t afraid to stand alone at the end of the day. Even if we aren’t the top executive at our company, the smartest person in the room or an idealized movie star, I believe we all still deserve happiness and should accept ourselves just the way we are.

There are so many different paths to choose in life, sure some options may be harder to achieve due to economic status or family ties, but at the end of the day, the actual willpower, courage to try just one more time, and acceptance of ourselves, comes from within. That’s something no one can take away from us and something we have access to each and every day. And yet, so many people struggle with not feeling worthy enough to have what they feel they deserve.

I hope you really take time to think about the person you want to be. That you put yourself first AND help others along the way. I hope you decide to be the person who never gives up, who accepts yourself the way you are and is determined to reach your goals, whatever those may be.

“To accept ourselves as we are means to value our imperfections as much as our perfections.”
-Sandra Bierig

2 thoughts on “Happy Just The Way We Are

  1. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet
    my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking
    for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your
    new updates.

    Like

Leave a Reply

