You Don’t Have To Be A (Fill In The Blank) To Get Ahead


Let’s be honest, we’ve all come across these people in our lives, the mean, the rude, the cold, let’s just say it, the jerk? The good news is you don’t have to put up with it or stoop to their level, IF you’re mindful of your own reactions, thoughts and actions. When you come across these characters, you’ll realize that it’s actually the perfect time to use your mindfulness skills, stay grounded and exhibit the fact that no one can shake your core, not even the jerks.

I’m not saying it’s always easy to do, or that at times you won’t be tested, but when you let people walk all over you, you’re the only one who suffers. Some behavior just cannot be tolerated and it’s up to you to determine when enough is enough, whether it’s with friends, relationships, strangers, co-workers, acquaintances…you have the choice to not accept or allow it in your life.

Don’t be afraid to stand up for what you believe and make changes if your morals and goals don’t align with your current situation. It’s more important to take care of yourself and live out your values than it is to live your life catering to other’s needs and desires.

Take the time to think about it, what do you want out of life? What motivates you to get out of bed in the morning? It’s fun to care and be passionate and strong. This isn’t rocket science, it’s pure mindfulness. It’s up to you to decide how you want to live your life and it’s up to you to surround yourself with people who love and support you. I decided that there is no longer room in my life for toxic people, and let me tell you, it’s like a breath of fresh air. It’s a peaceful, joyful and an inspiring place to be.

I’d like to thank those people who “challenged” me along the way, it lit my fire and kept me pushing forward. It forced me to make (good) decisions I may have never had the courage to make. The best part is that at the end of the day I can hold my head up high knowing I did it with respect and dignity.

2 thoughts on “You Don’t Have To Be A (Fill In The Blank) To Get Ahead

Leave a Reply

