Thanks For Being Open


Words that came from a woman showcasing organic teas and products at Whole Foods. These words stuck with me because I felt she was genuine, sincere and, let’s be honest, most likely getting the brush by from most of the other busy shoppers in the store and appreciated me stopping. I stopped because I had the time (yes), but I was also being mindful of what she was sharing, wanted to know why it was a product I should know about, and wanted to hear the back story about the lady on the farm who made these items. I wanted to learn.

I’m glad I did. I had a nice encounter with a stranger, tasted some new teas and learned about the farm the products came from. I would call that a successful interaction. When we parted she stopped and said, “Thank you for being open to trying new things.” I loved it. She was right. Sometimes we get so caught up in our own world, in our own mind, with social media, that we forget about the joy that comes from having an interaction with a human who teaches you something.

What a concept, huh? Well these days it’s all too foreign to us and our youth. Interacting with another human? Learning something outside of the classroom or work? A lot of times we live our days so structured and on straight autopilot that we become oblivious to what’s going on around us. We forget that life is happening right in front of our eyes, in the now. If we don’t take the time to engage and appreciate it, soon it will be too late and we’ll wonder where all the time went. It doesn’t have to be that way if we would just take the time to slow down and be a little more mindful.

In doing this, you may notice that the simple, slower, mindful way of life is more rewarding than the chaotic and rushed way of living our society tends to encourage. It doesn’t mean you can’t have fun or be in the know. It means you’ll remember the moments and start appreciating the people, interactions and nature around you that mean so much more than those pesky little tasks we “have” to get done each day.

Do it, take the time to slow down and appreciate all that life has to offer. I promise you it’s beautiful and well worth it.

One thought on “Thanks For Being Open

Leave a Reply

